September 19

NYSCL Independence/Legend Cup softball tournament

first_imgLack of preparation not a worry for defending championsTHE current inclement weather has definitely hindered all outdoor events, but captains of the Regal Allstars and Masters teams, Mohamed Rafiek and Troy Kippins, are not worried about the lack of preparation for the upcoming New York Softball Cricket League (NYSCL) Independence/Legend Cup softball tournament.Ricky DeonarineHowever, they believe their teammates would put up a good show in the tournament, which is scheduled for June 30 to July 2 at the Canarsie Park, Brooklyn, and the Roy Wilkinson Park in Queens.Both teams are the defending champions, with Regal Allstars defeating New York Allstars by two wickets, while Regal Masters overcame Guyanese rivals Floodlights by five wickets in last year’s tournament.Speaking with Chronicle Sport on Tuesday, Rafiek said his team has a good idea what to expect during the tournament.“Most of the teams will be coming hard at us, but we have a good idea of what to expect,” he said.On the other hands, Kippins pointed out that they are aware of the challenges ahead and will not be taking any team lightly.“We will take it one game at a time and try to reach the final four and take it from there,” he added.Both teams, along with their media liaison officer Inderjeet Persaud departed these shores yesterday morning.The Guyana Floodlights Softball Cricket Association (GFSCA) will also field two teams in the tournament.The two teams are: Floodlights and Floodlights Legends. Floodlights are the reigning champions in this year’s inaugural Orlando Premier League, played in March in Florida.They were champions at Florida Cup in March 2016 in Fort Lauderdale. On the other hand, Floodlights Legends won the 2015 edition of the NYSCL tournament.However, both teams are confident to reclaim softball supremacy.Twelve teams in each category from around USA, Canada and Guyana will be taking part in the three-day tournament.Teams – Regal Allstars: Fazal Rafiek (captain), Richard Latif, Navin Singh, Sachin Singh, Rohit Dutchin, Sewchand Budhu, Safraz Esau, Marvin Babb, Delroy Perreira, Amir Nizamudeen, Patrick Rooplall, Privnauth Motilall and Davindra Ramnauth. Parmanand Persaud (manager).Masters: Troy Kippins (captain), Mahendra Hardyal, Mohendra Arjune, David Harper, Eric Thomas, Mahase Chunilall, Eon Abel, Fazleem Mohamed, Rudolph Baker, Laurie Singh, Abdool Samad, Parsram Persaud, Shaun Massiah and Rudy Rodrigues. Clyde Butts (manager).The GFSCA’s two teams will come from: Uniss Mohamed Yousuf, Ramo Malone, Ramesh Narine Deonarine, Lloyd Ruplall, Wayne Jones, Kamraj Sumair, Robert Mohan, Mahesh Lutchman, Tulshi Lutchman, Vishawnauth Lutchman, Anil Beharry, Goordial Mattai, Ricky Deonarain, Jagdish Persaud, Dharam Persaud, Lakhram Singh, Gopaul Boj-Raj, Jailall Doedass, Vivakenand Ramsaywack, Nadir Baksh, Mohan Sukhu, Richard Persaud, Surendra Nauth, Armogan Gopaul, Unos Baksh, Teekchand Madho, Ramchand Ragbeer. Hubern Evans is the coach for both teams.last_img

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Copyright 2020. All rights reserved.

Posted September 19, 2020 by admin in category "poxemotl

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *